Whether you’ve been injured in a car accident or by medical malpractice, your lawsuit has a statute of limitations that you must adhere to in order to seek compensation.
Statute of limitations is a law in which a time limit is placed on lawsuits. This time may change depending on what state you bring your case. In Ohio, it is typically 2 years for a personal injury case. However, there are exceptions and factors that go into each case.
In any lawsuit, it’s important to start early. Speak to an experienced attorney as soon as possible to get your personal injury case started and underway. Many times, you will still be receiving medical treatment during the course of your case. This is typical and does not take away from your lawsuit.
While the typical statute of limitations in a civil case is 2 years in Ohio, there is something called the ‘discovery rule’ which can lengthen that amount of time. Someone may have been injured but not know it immediately. For example, if you were a surgical patient and the doctor did something to cause you injury it may not develop for months or even years. But once that discovery is known, the period of time to bring a lawsuit starts. The discovery rule does not apply to all civil injuries, and sometimes the period of time for bringing a claim post-discovery can be short, so it is important to seek legal assistance quickly in the event of the late discovery of an injury.
Be sure to speak with an experienced attorney who understands statute of limitation restrictions and how they affect you in your own personal injury matter.